1. Home
  2. How to Add or Copy an Approval Workflow at the Project Level

How to Add or Copy an Approval Workflow at the Project Level

In order to add an approval Workflow at the Project Level, you must be a Project Admin

  • Adding or customizing a Workflow at the Project level automatically makes the workflow active for that project. 
  • Workflows added at the Project level will not be available for use in other projects. If you want to create a workflow that can be used in multiple projects, add it at the Company level (instructions here).

Where is the Approval Workflow Menu?

  1. From the Admin menu, select Project Admin 
  2. Navigate to the project you would like to add an Approval Workflow to using the Project Selector in the upper right corner.
  3. In the Management menu, select the Approval Workflow button.

Add a New Approval Workflow

  1. Select New to create a new Approval Workflow from scratch, OR select Copy to use an existing Approval Workflow as a template.
  2. Select a meaningful name for your new workflow. 
  3. Edit the New First Step block. Select the Edit button.
  4. Customize the workflow step, using the “Customizing a Workflow Step” directions below. After your step is complete, click Save.
  5. Continue to add additional steps by clicking Add Step, and customizing as you did previously.
  6. Once all steps are complete, click the Exit the Workflow Editor button in the upper right corner.

Customizing a Workflow Step

Approval Workflows are highly customizable. Read these descriptions to understand each option in the Edit Workflow Step dialog.

  • Name: Select a meaningful name for the step. This name can be customized when copied at the project level, if needed.
  • Description: Description of what is happening in the step (optional).
  • Allow editing at this step: When checked, reviewers can also edit documents, or upload new documents.   When unchecked, reviewers will not be able to edit or upload documents at this step.     
  • Rejection Step: Determines which step the approval will move to if the step is rejected. The rejection step tells the workflow where to go next if a reviewer clicks Reject when they review the approval.
  • Requires re-approval on rejection:  When checked, if there are multiple reviewers and one reviewer rejects the step, all other reviewers will have to re-approve the step. If left unchecked, the previous approvals will stand.
  • Process rejections first:   When checked, if any reviewer in the step has clicked reject the rejection process occurs instantly, instead of waiting for other approvers.      
  • Enable Timeouts: When timeouts are enabled, reviewers have a set number of days to respond to a workflow. If they fail to respond, the document will move to the timeout step.
  • Timeout Step: Determines which step the approval will move to if the reviewer(s) fail to respond to the workflow in the specified timeframe.
  • Timeout Days: If Enable Timeouts is selected, the admin must select a number of timeout days. many users select 3-5 days. If the number of timeout days pass without a response, the document automatically moves to the timeout step.
  • Reviewers Required to Approve:  When “All step reviewers must approve” is not selected, the admin must select a number of reviewers that are required to approve. This cannot exceed the total number of reviewers listed in the step.
  •  All step reviewers must approve: When selected, every reviewer at this step must approve the step before the workflow can continue.
  • Employee button: Use the Employee button to add employees as reviewers at this step. 
  • External button: Use the External button to add a single reviewer from a company listed on the current project.
  • Company button:  Use the Company button to add an entire company listed on the current project as a reviewer.

Who Will Be Able to Use the Project Level Workflow?

After you create or copy a workflow at the project level, it will be active only for the current project. Any employee in your company will be able to initiate a workflow from the Approvals tab in their Documents dashboard, as long as they are in the correct project. 

Hints and Tips:

  • You can use an existing workflow as a template for a new proejct-level workflow. Click the Copy button, and then select the workflow you would like to use as a template. 
  • When you create a workflow using the Copy button, the original workflow won’t be changed. You can edit the copy as needed. 
  • If you use Copy to add a workflow, be sure to change the name to make it easy to distinguish between the two different workflows.
  • Use  to remove a step from the workflow.
  • Use  to move a step to a new location in the workflow.
Updated on September 7, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support