How can I remove a user from ConDoc? (How can I deactivate an employee in ConDoc?)

~ 0 min
2019-08-06

Deactivating an Employee

Once an employee is added to ConDoc, they can NOT be removed. Employees may be removed from a project, but they can’t be removed from ConDoc. An employee may only be deactivated, not deleted. This is for historical tracking purposes. Any actions an employee takes on any documents in ConDoc are tracked in that document’s audit trail. Deactivating the employee rather than deleting them allows that audit history to remain intact and maintains the accountability ConDoc is designed to facilitate.

What happens when I deactivate an employee in ConDoc?

When an employee is deactivated, their access is terminated immediately. They will no longer be able to access information in ConDoc for the project they are terminated from. If they are deactivated for a project, their project access is immediately terminated, but they are still able to work on other projects for their company in ConDoc. If the employee is deactivated from their company, all access to ConDoc for that employee is terminated immediately.   

All data created by the employee prior to deactivation is retained in ConDoc. This  includes documents created by the employee, notes or logs of employee actions, and any uploaded images or pdfs. Incomplete documents are also retained.

Employees can be deactivated from a single project via the Project Admin page. Employees can be deactivated from all projects via the Company Admin page.

How can I quickly identify what an employee has been working on?

The easiest way to identify what an employee has been working on is a quick review in the Documents tab.

  • Go to the Documents tab.
  • From the project selector find a project where the employee was deactivated.
  • Open the RFI tab.
  • Type the first or last name of the deactivated employee into the search bar. This will show you any RFI documents where the document was Last modified by the deactivated employee. 
  • Repeat this process for all document types and projects the employee was working on to identify the items that are in their court.

How to remove an employee from the Company 

*In order to remove an employee from your company, you will need to be a Company Admin . (This feature is only available on paid ConDoc subscriptions). If you do not have Company Admin access, or would only like to deactivate the employee in certain project(s), please navigate to the next section How to remove an employee from a project.

Employees are easily removed from ConDoc from the Company Admin page.   When you remove an employee via the Company Admin page, they are removed from all projects.

  1. From the Admin menu, select Company Admin.
  2. From the Company Admin page,  click Manage Employees.
  3. Select the user you would like to deactivate.
  4. Click Deactivate. 
  5. A warning pops up to confirm you would like to deactivate the employee. Select Confirm  to confirm deactivating the employee.

How to remove an employee from a Project 

*In order to remove an employee from a project in ConDoc, you will need to be a Project Admin .

Employees are easily removed from ConDoc from the Project Admin page.   When you remove an employee via the Project Admin page, they are only removed from the project currently selected in the project selector. 

  1. From the Admin menu, select Project Admin.
  2. Navigate to the project you would like to remove the employee from.
  3. From the Project Admin page,  click Manage in the Employees menu.
  4. Click the trashcan icon beside the employee you would like to deactivate.
  5. A warning pops up to confirm you would like to deactivate the employee. Select Confirm  to confirm deactivating the employee.
  6. Repeat steps 1-5 to remove the employee from additional projects.

Are you a company admin that would like to remove a specific user at a different company? You'll want to read the article Removing companies and their employees from projects.

You cannot comment on this entry